Mixed Media Home Canvas

Homecanvas copy
After taking several online classes and doing a lot of research on mixed media and art journaling.  I decided I wanted to get back to creating things I love and meant something to me rather than just making random items because I had to. 

Starting out with a blank white canvas can be a rather daunting experience.  I glued the ledger paper (TCD Mr and Mrs Collection to the canvas with Golden matte gel medium and then used a large pallette knife to spread the teal and white paint to create the blue sky.  I tore some strips of old Making Memories paper and adhered them with the gel medium.  I used an old book page to create the house and glued it down so it would be behind the second layer of grass. I then tore a second strip of paper and used the Martha Stewart fringe scissors and slightly crumpled the piece.  I let it dry and painted in the grass using several green shades of Twinking H2Os-it makes the whole piece shimmer.  I added the roof (TCD Mr and Mrs Label paper) and painted the heart also with the H2Os.

I used Onyx Black ink from Tsukineko on the stamps.  In order to get a slightly distressed look I stamped them on a sheet of scratch paper first and then stamped them on the canvas without using an acrylic block.  I used some bubble wrap and white paint to add another layer.  I wrote out the quote and did the outlining with a PITT pen from Faber-Castell.  I stamped the word home on some canvas that was coated on the back so the H2Os wouldn’t bleed through. The writing and stamping looked a little too crisp so I lightly sanded all of the blue around the house.  I sprayed the whole piece with a finishing spray to protect it and am trying to decide whether to hang it in my office or in the front entryway.

Leave a Reply

